Awards: From Rhodes to Marshall to Medal of Science

January/February 2006

Reading time min

Awards: From Rhodes to Marshall to Medal of Science

News Service

Six professors led the autumn awards parade when they were elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science in October. Joining the world’s largest general scientific society were Daniel Herschlag, professor of biochemistry; Arend Sidow, associate professor of pathology and of genetics; Eric S. Roberts, professor of computer science; Linda C. Cork, professor of comparative medicine; C.W. Francis Everitt, research professor at the Hansen Experimental Physics Laboratory and principal investigator for Gravity Probe B; and Paul M. Sniderman, professor of political science and senior fellow at the Hoover Institution. The Stanford faculty were among 376 new AAAS fellows.

Kenneth J. Arrow, professor emeritus of economics and operations research, was named one of eight recipients of the 2004 National Medal of Science in November. A White House statement cited Arrow’s “groundbreaking contributions to the pure theory of economics,” as well as research that contributed to “a revolution in the design and analysis of market allocation mechanisms.”

Seniors Tanya Ali Haj-Hassan and Elizabeth W. Mayne have been named Rhodes Scholars and will study at Oxford University next fall. Haj-Hassan is a human biology major from Jordan who plans to study for a master of science degree in global health science. She hopes to work toward improving health care in the Middle East. Mayne, a Denver native who majored in biological sciences, plans to study physiology, working with either the Calcium Signaling Group or the Oxford Ion Channel Initiative.

Also at Oxford will be Rajaie Batniji, ’03, MA ’03, who will study development, and Trevor Sutton, ’03, who will pursue international relations. In November, they were awarded Marshall scholarships for two years of study at British institutions of their choice, along with seniors Philip Tanedo and Mark Otuteye. Tanedo will study mathematics and physics at Cambridge and at the University of Durham’s Institute for Particle Physics Phenomenology, and Otuteye will study English at King’s College London and Cambridge University.

You May Also Like

© Stanford University. Stanford, California 94305.