A First for Women's Rowing

July/August 2009

Reading time min

A First for Women's Rowing

Roger Waterman

The ever more diverse Stanford trophy case boasts its first NCAA women's rowing championship following the May showdown in New Jersey. The title was sealed in the final race when the first varsity eight boat led from start to finish to notch a victory by just 37 hundredths of a second over Virginia.

The members of the first varsity eight (also national champion in its category), starting with the coxswain: Jenna Levy, '12, Erika Roddy, '11, Di Eaton, '10, Elle Logan, '11, Grace Luczak, '11, Julie Smith, '11, Lindsay Meyer, '12, Michelle Vezie, '11, and Adrienne Fritsch, '10.

Stanford, whose team win included the performances of the second varsity eight and varsity four, earned the NCAA title with 88 points, outperforming Cal and Yale, who each had 85.

You May Also Like

© Stanford University. Stanford, California 94305.