Going Postal

US Postal Service

In May, the U.S. Postal Service will unveil a series of six stamps entitled “Distinguished American Diplomats.” Among them is the first woman designated a career ambassador, Frances E. Willis, ’20, PhD ’23, ambassador to Switzerland, Norway and Ceylon (Sri Lanka). Below are several other members of the Stanford community who have been so honored, along with the year each stamp was issued.

1902: Benjamin , 23rd president of the United States and Stanford lecturer on constitutional law.

1965: Herbert Hoover, Class of 1895, 31st president of the United States and namesake of the Farm’s Hoover Tower.

1979: John Steinbeck, 1920s Stanford student, author and winner of the 940 Pulitzer Prize Fiction Award for The Grapes of Wrath as well as the 1962 Nobel Prize for Literature.

1996: Eadweard Muybridge, groundbreaking photographer employed by Leland Stanford to show that a galloping horse’s hooves are, at one point, all off the ground.

1997: Glenn “Pop” Warner, football coach who led Stanford to three Rose Bowls and brought numerous innovations to football, including the spiral punt and numbered players’ jerseys.

US Postal Service

1999: Frederick Law Olmsted, American landscape architect and designer of Central Park, the U.S. Capitol grounds and Stanford’s campus.

2003: Edith Head, MA ’20, Hollywood costume designer for nearly six decades and winner of eight Oscars.

2003: Ernie Nevers, ’26, football player for Stanford, the Duluth Eskimos and the Chicago Cardinals. In 1962 he was named the best college football player of all time by Sports Illustrated.